“Voilà” to represent France in Rotterdam!

After a fantastically produced show from France Télévisions, we now officially have our third song for Eurovision 2021! France has voted to send Barbara to represent the country with their song “Voilà” by a large margin, beating out 11 other contestants.

The 12 songs that took part in tonight’s competition were:

  • 21 Juin le Duo – Peux-tu me dire? (Can you tell me?)
  • Ali – Paris me dit (Yalla ya hello!) (Paris told me)
  • Amui – Maeva (Welcome)
  • Andriamad – Alléluia (Hallelujah)
  • Barbara Pravi – Violà (That’s it)
  • Casanova – Tutti (All)
  • Céphaz – On a mangé le soleil (One ate the sun)
  • Juliette Moraine – Pourvu qu’on m’aime (I hope to be loved)
  • LMK – Magique (Magic)
  • Philippine – Bah non (Oh no)
  • Pony X – Amour fou (Crazy love)
  • Terrence James – Je t’emmènerai danser (I’ll take you dancing)

Listen to the winning song here:

Tonight’s broadcast of “Eurovision: C’est Vous Qui Decidez!” was the last of the national selections to begin. However, the show put on was incredibly professional with incredibly diverse staging for each of the competing songs. Our winning song was chosen in two rounds – the first round saw all 12 competing songs be performed, with the French public selecting their seven favourite entries. A professional jury made up of Eurovision legends including Amir, Duncan Laurence and even Jean-Paul Gautier also sent one song to the second round.

The second – and final – round was entirely decided on televoting and after a lot of suspense and anticipation, we found out that “Voilà” would be the song to represent France in Rotterdam this year!

These were final scores for the night!

Here are our initial impressions of the winning song:

Jazzi – Voilà is visually amazing and the performance is very emotional, I think this will give France a good result, not my personal favourite in the National Final but it will still do well and end up in a decent position in my personal top.

Rory – I’m not at all surprised by the winner here. “Voilà” was the overall winner from the moment all the songs came out. I think it has the potential for real Patricia Kaas results, or even higher. Hey, I’m totally down to go to Paris next year!

Rosie – I think this could go very well or very badly for France, but they’ve certainly picked my favourite entry of the three we have so far! Barbara has incredible stage presence and beautiful lyrics, and I hope it has enough impact to do well in Rotterdam.

Tim – France did the right thing by sending Voilà to Eurovision. After that chaos of a voting, I think they redeemed themselves at the end. With the song I think they have the chance to stand out pretty well.

So, now that we have our third song for Eurovision, what do you think of the result? Was France right to send “Voilà”? Should another artist have won? How well do you think France will do in the final? As always, please let us know what you think by getting involved on our social media, or by commenting below!

Leave a comment